Back To Top

D'Youville students achieve academic success, serve their communities, and support one another throughout the year. Honors Convocation is a celebration of that work.

Honors Convocation is an opportunity for the entire D’Youville community to celebrate the academic achievements of some of our top students, as well as those students who not only achieve academic success but also show great leadership ability, service to the community, and compassion for their fellow students.

Each academic department honors select students for their academic achievements, and the most prestigious awards that D'Youville presents to students — the D’Youville Medal, the Grey Nuns of the Sacred Heart Medal, the Lee Conroy Higgins Award, and the St. Catherine’s of Alexandria Medal — are bestowed on students at Honors Convocation.




RaShon Thomas


Mr. Stephen Tyrpak as this year’s Convocation speaker. Tyrpak is a senior level healthcare professional and alumni (’14) of D’Youville, where he graduated with a BS in Biology focusing on Chemistry and Psychology. He is the Director of Quality, Regulatory and Clinical Affairs at Garwood Medical Devices, LLC. and is a Principle Regulatory and Healthcare Strategy Consultant. In 2021, Tyrpak was recognized with the 30 under 30 award by Buffalo Business First and he currently sits on the Board of Directors for the Mental Health Advocates of WNY.


Mr. Tyrpak began his career working on products and therapies within the hospital sector and eventually branched off to help small companies get concept devices and pharmaceuticals to the clinical setting. He learned early on in his career small companies face unique obstacles many are ill prepared for. Tyrpak spent years learning and helping companies to develop strategies to achieve market notification and post-market reimbursement. His work has aided 9 startup companies in raising $59 million in funding and grants in the last two years and he is recognized as a commercialization expert who is regularly asked to speak by executives at companies such as Johnson and Johnson and other leading healthcare organizations.


Honorary Awards Details

The D'Youville Medal

The D’Youville Medal is awarded annually to a senior who, exemplifying the spirit and ideals of D'Youville, is deemed outstanding for achievement, service and loyalty to the university.

The Grey Nun of the Sacred Heart Medal

The Grey Nun of the Sacred Heart Medal is awarded annually to a graduate student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement as well as service to D'Youville and the larger community.

The Lee Conroy Higgins Award

The Lee Conroy Higgins Award, presented annually by the alumni association, recognizes a senior for outstanding support of and involvement in campus activities and shows concern for fellow students.

The St. Catherine of Alexandria Medal

The St. Catherine of Alexandria Medal, presented by the Buffalo Chapter of Kappa Gamma Pi, is awarded annually to a junior who is outstanding in scholarship and notable for service to the university and community.

The Saints Crest Medal

The Saints Crest Medal is given to a graduating student who embraces the core values of D’Youville while striving to improve our campus culture and society as a whole. Recognizing outstanding personal development and holistic involvement, the Saints Crest Medal recognizes a student who has worked selflessly in prompting social change - resulting in a better tomorrow for future Saints.


Candidates for these awards are nominated by the faculty and employees of the university, with final selection by an ad hoc committee.

Department awards are conferred annually on those students who demonstrate mastery of subject content and exemplify service to the university and community.